Councillors

R. Bruce Banman Les Barkman Sandy Blue Kelly Chahal



Councillors

Brenda Falk Dave Loewen Patricia Ross Ross Siemens

February 25, 2020

File: 0530-03

Via email

Dear Mayor and Council:

FEB 2 6 2020

File No. 400-60-06

Referred To CAO

Re: City of Abbotsford Resolution - Development Cost Charges (DCC) Bylaw and Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure (MOTI) Infrastructure

At the February 24, 2020 Executive Meeting of Council, Abbotsford City Council endorsed a resolution in support of the Development Cost Charges (DCC) Bylaw and Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure (MOTI) Infrastructure for submission to the Union of BC Municipalities (UBCM) for consideration at their annual convention this year.

On behalf of Abbotsford City Council, I am requesting your favourable consideration and support for this resolution should this resolution be accepted for debate at the 2020 Annual Convention of UBCM.

Resolution - Development Cost Charges (DCC) Bylaw and Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure (MOTI) Infrastructure

WHEREAS the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing administers the approval of the Development Cost Charges Bylaw for local municipalities and has rejected the inclusion of local governments capital costs for Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure highway interchanges on the basis that the local government does not own the aforementioned tangible capital asset;

AND WHEREAS The Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure expects up to 33% of highway interchange capital costs be paid for by the local municipality;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Province of BC provide for local governments to be able to include their portion of the capital cost for Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure interchanges in their Development Cost Charges Bylaw or that Ministry of Transportation fully fund capital costs for all MOTI owned Interchange projects.

We look forward to your support on this matter.

Yours truly,

Henry Braun Mayor C

Council Members

Honourable John Horgan, Premier of British Columbia

Honourable Claire Trevena, Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure, BC

Honourable Darryl Plecas, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia, MLA Abbotsford South

Brad Vis, MP Mission-Matsqui-Fraser Canyon

Ed Fast, MP Abbotsford

Mike de Jong, MLA Abbotsford West

Simon Gibson, MLA, Abbotsford-Mission

The Lower Mainland Local Government Association

The Union of British Columbia Municipalities (UBCM) Annual Convention

British Columbia Municipalities and Regional Districts